I am Mexican and I will not keep calm

 

I cannot, will not keep calm when we have a president who won through fraud and vote-buying, who rewards corruption and has a record for abuse of power.

I cannot keep calm when peaceful protests are criminalized, students and teachers put in jail for expressing their dissent.

I cannot keep calm when those responsible for vandalism are free.

I cannot keep calm in the face of torture, of enforced disappearances.

I cannot keep calm when 14 protesters are still in jail and could receive up to 30 years, without bail, for expressing their dissatisfaction with Mexican “democracy”.

I cannot keep calm until I know they are free and the government makes reparations to the almost 100 people it unjustly detained.

I cannot keep calm when femicides are growing and the government does nothing.

I cannot keep calm in a country where almost 50% of the population lives in poverty.

I cannot keep calm when traditional media manipulates information.

I cannot keep calm in a country where millions mourn the death of a singer but not the deaths of indigenous peoples who demand their rights.

I cannot keep calm when there are almost 100,000 people killed in the past six years and their deaths are not investigated.

I cannot keep calm when the government deletes public information on disappearances.

I am Mexican and I WILL NOT keep calm.

Acerca de Xalaila

Licenciada en Relaciones Internacionales, próxima Maestra en Terrorismo y Seguridad, activista en derechos humanos, feminista.
Esta entrada fue publicada en México, política, violencia y etiquetada , , , , , , , , . Guarda el enlace permanente.

¿Tú qué opinas?

